Coiste Siamse – Fly-Fishing Championships

On 14th and 15th May 2015, the annual Garda Coiste Siamsa Fly-Fishing Championships took place on Lough Conn in Co. Mayo. This competition has been running for nearly 40 years and was again held over two days on this internationally-renowned brown trout fishing lough. Fishing conditions were good on both days of the competition and a total of 47 brown trout were captured by the 30 competing anglers.

European Police Fly-Fishing Championship 2015 — Wales.

Between 7th / 11th September, a strong team (10 Serving & 4 GSRMA Members) will travel to compete in the Eurpoean Police Fly-Fishing (EPFFC) which will be held on the Llyn Brenig in Wales. The Garda Fly-Fishing Team wish to thank the following organisation for their very generous sponsorship to meet the huge expense associated with travel/accommodation :-

  1. Coiste Siamsa.
  2. St. Raphael’s Garda Credit Union Limited.
  3. St. Paul’s Garda Credit Union Limited.
  4. Seán Costello & Co. Solicitor’s, Aran Quay, Dublin 7.
  5. Abbeyglen Castle Hotel, Clifden, Galway.
  6. Athenaeum Hotel, Waterford.
  7. Enniscoe House, Castlehill.
  8. McWilliam Park Hotel, Claremorris.
  9. Renvyle House Hotel, Connemara.
  10. Woodlands Hotel, Adare, Limerick.
  11. Garry Piggott, Ridge Pool Tackle Shop.

The results of the Lough Conn competitions are listed below.

Team Event (4 anglers per team)
1st place – DMR West – Gerry Feeney, Declan Conlon, Niall Kenny, Mark Kenny. (Total catch – 9 brown trout for 13lb 2oz)
2nd place – Galway (B) – Mick Bradley, Christy Reilly, Con McCole, Paul Agnew. (Total catch – 8 brown trout for 8lb 7oz)
3rd place – Galway (A) – Seamus Kelly, Barry Carolan, Peter McGuinness, Phil Donoghue. (Total catch – 7 brown trout for 8lb 4.4oz).

Individual Section
1st place – Mick Bradley – Galway Division
2nd place – Mark Kenny – Laois/Offaly Division
3rd place – Stephen Neylon – DMR South Division

Heaviest Fish Section
1st place – Gerry Feeney – 3lb 8.2oz

Retired Members Section
1st place – Gerry Feeney
2nd place – Tom McMahon
3rd place – Seamus Kelly.

Following a meal at Hiney’s Bar in Crossmolina, the various section winners were presented with their prizes by Chief Superintendent Patrick Diskin of the Mayo Division, who kindly attended at this Coiste Siamsa-sponsored event.

Photographs of Prize-Winners — At end are Gerry Feeney, Tom McMahon, Seamus Kelly.

Fly-Fish 1Fly-Fish 2Fly-Fish 3Fly-Fish 4Fly-Fish 5Fly-Fish 6Fly-Fish 7Fly-Fish 8Fly-Fish 9Fly-Fish 10


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Designed By